Our 51st Year Home News   Events/Schedule  Parade Forms Contacts 1963 to 2014

Be sure and enter the Essay Contest.

‘AIM FOR A HIGH MARK’ Essay Contest

Sponsored by:

Darke County Guns & Ammo

109 S. Main Street, Ansonia, Ohio

Contest open to all girls ages 8 to 13 who live in Darke county

Three prizes will be awarded.

1st - $75.00

2nd - $50.00

3rd - $25.00

Write an essay answering the question “How has Annie Oakley’s life inspired you to ‘Aim for a High Mark?’”









The 2015 Annie Oakley Festival will be held at
York Woods.
This is just north of Greenville at the intersection of State Route 127 and State Route 242. Across from the Annie Oakley Restaurant.

Please see the events page for this years schedule.

The officers for 2015 are:

JoEllen Melling, President
Judie Hathaway, 1st Vice President
Jennifer Peck, 2nd Vice President
Darlene Meyers, Secretary
April Osborne, Treasurer

Join the committee, only $5 per year. Use your voice to honor Darke County's most famous daughter.

Once you join the committee, attend the meeting and share your ideas. We meet once per month, the 2nd Wednesday, at the Nature Center on ST RT 502, at 7 pm.


The Annie Oakley Committee needs your help. We have only 12 members. If you have a few hours available that you could help us, send an email [here] and see how you could help.




In advertisements for the Wild West Show, Annie was called “Little Sure Shot”—the nickname Chief Sitting Bull, her costar, had given her. She would hit the edge of a playing card from 90 feet, and shoot it five or six more times before it hit the ground.


3 day festival
Friday, July 24, 2015
Saturday, July 25, 2015
Sunday, July 26. 2015

The Annie Oakley Festival Committee is excited to announce that this year’s festival will be held at York Woods on US RT 127. 



The Annie Oakley Festival began in the summer of 1963 as the brainchild of local individuals who sought to further the memory and image of their native daughter, “Annie Oakley – Little Miss Sure Shot.”  The festival committee is a group of volunteer citizens and business owners who dedicate themselves, along with countless hours of work, to make this annual festival Darke County’s second oldest festival.


For 33 years, the festival was held behind Garst Museum.  As the museum planned to expand and the festival continued to grow, it was decided that the festival was better suited to move to the Darke County Fairgrounds.  In 1997, the festival moved to allow more room for entertainment, activities and parking.  However, due to the cost of rent for the fairgrounds, the festival was forced to charge admission to cover the rental.


The core mission of The Annie Oakley Festival is honoring Darke Counties most famous Daughter.





Join our email newsletter list here.
 ttt Join us on Facebook ttfacebook guns
-GALLERY-camera cutefast drawcontest hatformsformalities

featured on: http://www.myfairsandfestivals.com

© 2012-2015 Annie Oakley Committee, Inc.